All students and staff are members of a House, and they are encouraged to participate in as many House activities as possible.  

Most form classes are made up of students from one house, with some form classes comprising students of two houses. 

The Houses are Awatere (red), Kaituna (blue), Opawa (yellow) and Wairau (green).  House Prefects are appointed annually and House Deputies are elected by the House at the beginning of the year.

A series of Inter-House Competitions are held annually from February to November to foster involvement, team work and lively competition.  These include the swimming sports, athletic sports, cross country, House Drama and House Choir Competitions.  House points are awarded for participation and to winners. House placings are published and the banners in the Hall are displayed according to the previous year’s competition.